Embassy Archives Embassy Archives

Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between Department of Consumer Affairs and US Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC)

Washington, DC
January 12, 2006

Mr. L. Mansingh, Secretary, Department of Consumer Affairs, (DCA) of Government of India and Mr. Hal Stratton, Chairman of US Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) today with the primary objective of establishing institutional cooperation between the two agencies and for providing technical assistance to develop suitable programmes for ensuring safety of consumer products in the bilateral trade between the two countries.

The signing of MOU underscores the commitment of both countries to improve safety of traded consumer products and provides the basis for undertaking cooperative endeavors with a view to enhance the quality and safety of consumer products. The MOU provides for exchange of information, development of training programs and exchange of experts on consumer safety issues for promoting the interests of consumers on a continuous basis.

During 2004, CPSC signed similar MOUs with Canada and Mexico to improve the safety of consumer products. 

Bilateral trade between India and US is growing rapidly in both directions. This is also reflected in India’s exports of consumer products to US. As per the latest trade figures, India ranked eleventh in exports of consumer products to the US in 2004, accounting for approximately 2% of US global imports of products under CPSC’s jurisdiction. India’s exports under this category were US$8.3 billion in 2004, a 21% increase since 1997.

Besides the MOU, the six member delegation led by Mr. Mansingh also held meetings with Mr Rueben Jeffery III, Chairman and the senior officials of Commodities Futures Trading Commission (CFTC), Federal Trade Commission (FTC) and private sector representatives in the US commodities market. During the visit to New York, the delegation held discussions with Mr Mitchell Steinhause, Chairman New York Mercantile Exchange, Mr Fred W. Schonehut Chairman, New York Board of Trade and Mr James A. Guest President, Consumers Union.